My Schedule

My Schedule

schedule-1
Schedule

This is what my schedule looks like. Everything I do (that fits into the Two a Day category) goes in here. Weekenders too. I turn them green when they’re done! This is a tab on a spreadsheet with the two images below also having their own tabs.

schedule2
My Choices

This is the menu that I can choose from. Things I can accomplish at work, things that have to happen when I’m not at work. Weekenders, cleaning list for things that are due (orange as you’ll see below), and my weekly rotation list.

schedule-3
Cleaning Spreadsheet

This is where I keep track of all the cleaning I am assigned to do for my house. And cleaning for my room. They’re separated out by frequency of cleaning. The orange are things that are due. Blue is because it’s raining this week and it doesn’t make sense to sweep the outdoor stairs while it’s going to be raining. Some of the ones that are not orange but should be are currently assigned days. The period for “Clean out clutter area” is currently bigger than two weeks (2/7 – 2/22) but that’s because I’m going to do it on 2/22.

img_3790
My Productive

This is what my Productive app looks like. You can see that it has my habits and I’ve done some of them today. The bottom has the past week and how I’ve been doing. These habits I can do at any time. After 5 pm, Bed Before 10 pm will pop up too.

My anxiety manifests in feeling overwhelmed about all the things I have to do and then doing none of them because of that. In college I used a hand drawn calendar that would break things down that I needed to do day by day but also could see what was due in the future. Then I would write each day on a post it note and get stuff done without always having to look at the big picture. Now I don’t need to look into the future as much because I have less due dates. My current system helps me combat my anxiety in my post grad life in a couple ways.

  1. Putting everything down on paper
    1. When things are floating around in my brain they seem bigger than they are and not well defined. By writing them down, I don’t have to remember them, I realize their true scope (large or small) and I can break them down into concrete steps.
  2. Having realizable goals
    1. Two a Days is a manageable enough number for me. I think, can I get two things done today? And yes, yes I can.
    2. Sometimes I put (0.25) or (0.5) or (1) etc after items as guesses as to how long they’ll take, using hours as the unit of time. That helps me calm down about getting them done because it helps me realize that it won’t take that much time at all.
  3. Planning
    1. I’ve learned that I sometimes deal with things better if I’m mentally prepared for them. Like a larger project at work. If I come into work knowing that’s the only thing I’ll do for the day and that I will devote multiple hours to it, it’s easier for me to get it done than trying to start that in the middle of my day.
    2. If I feel overwhelmed about all the things I have to do (like cleaning) I split them into my Two a Days for the next couple of days and then I feel calmer. When things are planned out, I realize that it is manageable.
  4. Forgiving Myself
    1. Part of this is learning to listen to how I’m feeling and not make myself feel guilty for not accomplishing enough. Making myself feel guilty takes so much energy that I could be using to do other things and not just tiring myself out.
    2. Two a Days are my answer to not making myself feel guilty. If I do two things I have hit my goal and I am not required at all to do anything more.
  5. Getting to integrate all the cool things I want to be doing
    1. I want to be doing all these things (cleaning, fiddling, writing, exercising, practicing Arabic, etc). I just get overwhelmed at all the things I’ve assigned to myself. So I’m breaking it down and taking it day by day.

Leave a Reply

